Backstage

Where I Sit

 

I have been spending a lot of time in a dark backstage area. My eyes have been opened to a whole new world. When we go to a Show, a Concert or a Conference, we walk in expecting to be entertained, WOW-ed or some other similar reaction, having NO CLUE all the work that goes into the whole show. The production crew takes an empty hall or ballroom and turns it into a stage with curtains, lights and powerful sound with breathtaking speed, sometimes overnight.

 On the show circuit, everyone knows everyone, and in a way, its like a little family. It’s just a family whose house keeps getting put up then t down a few days later with a million hours of manpower  . It’s kind of like Extreme Home Makeover, but with a GroundHog Day twist.

Backstage has a certain protocol, language and culture. Those who operate within the culture are accepted, but if someone has no clue as to what goes on and is invited backstage they are usually called things like “Talent” or “The Executive” or “The Entertainment.” If someone like me is new and says things the wrong way, I found out quickly that I just get a blank stare like I am talking to them in Swahili or Japanese. It pays to find someone to help you navigate the lingo and etiquette.

I still have a lot to learn, but I think I am finally getting the hang of it. Honestly, it’s really been my favorite part of my job, even with all the stress and issues that come up with Show Business. It’s a crazy but cozy little world and I hope I get to stick around for a while…

One thought on “Backstage

Leave a Reply

