Nightmares.

Waking up in the middle of the night to utilities laying power in your room may not seem like a nightmare to you, but to someone like me who has been spending most of her days working in a dark backstage, it’s a horrible dream. Lately, I have been waking up at 2am or 3, jolting out of bed thinking that I am in the middle of a keynote and I am needed to set up the stage, help a demoer or that something is going wrong. It really puts a damper on the good night’s sleep.

I’ve come up with a new strategy that I am going to try out tonight. Since backstage is always dark, and since my hotel room is dark at night, I am going to try leaving a light on when I head to bed. I can’t change the lighting backstage, but I can in my room. Perhaps then, when I wake up, I will see the light and know that I am not, in fact, at a keynote, but rather, in a hotel room.

 Then, hopefully, I will get some decent REM.

3 thoughts on “Nightmares.

  1. Remember when Kim K. fell asleep at a MS Conf when we had to manually click to each slide for the speaker? She fell asleep, while sitting at the front of the room – directly in front of the speaker – and he leaned over and said, “Hellooooo” in front of all the attendees. Your posting reminded me of that. To hear Kim tell that story is hilarious.

  2. I like how you said “when I wake up I’ll see the light” Just make sure your on earth when you see the light. If your in heaven shut your eyes and come back to us! 🙂

Leave a Reply

